Jump to content


Photo

Font Selection


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 flexdesigner

flexdesigner

    FireworksCommander

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles!
  • Interests:Flex, Flash & Rush!

Posted 31 August 2006 - 09:00 AM

I always felt that font selection was a little funky. Not being able to type directly in the selection text-box, and the drop-down always defaulting to the top of the list - the most recent selections - can get annoying when you have 200 or so so scroll through. I know that you can type a letter and it will take you to that position within the list, but a font selection tool exactly like in InDesign CS would be a welcome addition (to me!).

Two WishList posts in the same day! I guess I must add that I LOVE Fireworks more than any other vector or bitmap editing program. It's so intuitive.

Thanks!

#2 blue2x

blue2x

    FireworksMaster

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 718 posts
  • Location:Cagayan de Oro City , Philippines
  • Interests:Adobe Fireworks , Business , Investing , Art , Technology

Posted 31 August 2006 - 08:15 PM

yeah i agree, i think the font selection in version 4 was different than the mx or later versions though.

#3 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 31 August 2006 - 10:50 PM

I agree, too, concerning the font selection! Nice point! :-)

Well, the idea of going ALWAYS to the top of the list when opening FONT FAMILY option, is not bad, just not very well implemented. Why?

Because the short-font list at the top list is way too short :)

It contains only six fonts. I think, 10+ or even 20 would be much more handy! We use a lot more than 6 fonts usually.

Or if we can specify (in PREFERENCES?) the number of fonts we would like to have in the short list of fonts, would be nice! :-)

What do you think?

#4 abeall

abeall

    FireworksNut

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts

Posted 07 September 2006 - 05:09 PM

This might help. (attached)

By senocular, of course

Attached Files



#5 senocular

senocular

    Fireworks Extender

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posted 07 September 2006 - 05:13 PM

I was all ready to post that and you beat me to it ;)

#6 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 11 September 2006 - 02:04 AM

Thanks, senocular!

Just tried your small pice of .JSF, works great, thanks a lot!!! :-)

I specified 20 fonts for the QuickFontsList and all is OK now:)

Could this extension be included in the future FW release maybe? make it part of PREFERENCES dialog? ["Specify number of quick list fonts: enter number from 1 to 99" - for example?]

Would be very helpful for people! :rolleyes:

#7 abeall

abeall

    FireworksNut

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts

Posted 11 September 2006 - 04:52 AM

Specify number of quick list fonts: enter number from 1 to 99

You can actually specify 0 as well, which is my preference. :)

#8 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 11 September 2006 - 05:27 AM

You can actually specify 0 as well, which is my preference. :)


Of course... 0 is OK as well, I just made an example... Like in PREFERENCES, you can specify from 1 to 1001 steps for UNDO action ;-)

If for fonts this number could be specified also through the FW interface directly (maybe in PREFERENCES, too), would be easier for people :-)

Otherwise, this .JSF works like a charm, I simply didn't know such a thing existed... :)

#9 senocular

senocular

    Fireworks Extender

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posted 11 September 2006 - 06:33 AM

That command does set a preference, it's just a hidden one. There are a lot of preferences that are hidden in this fashion and many are not included in the UI for reasons of time, property, and to keep the interface from being bloated with an excess of options. If you feel this is an option that you would like included with the preferences, let your voice be heard

http://www.adobe.com/go/wish/

(though, asuming Alan reads it here, it will also carry ;) )

#10 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 11 September 2006 - 06:47 AM

(though, asuming Alan reads it here, it will also carry ;) )

Yes ;-)

Well, for my part, I didn't know that such an option existed in HIDDEN PREFS. And your extension for setting this preference works great. But I guess, most of the people using FW didn't know, too. So maybe making "un-hidden" some of the useful preferences, is a good idea... :)

Alan will say ;)