Jump to content


Photo

How to remove noise in images?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 05:31 AM

Hi, you Fireworks Gurus! :-)

I need a bit of help here:

Either:

1) Point me to a good free extension, which may help me reduce noise in JPG files with lots of noise in them (especially in digital cameras - you know, for example, how bad look pictures taken in low-light conditions or with high ISO settings - over ISO 200)... or...

2) Point me to a good tutorial which may produce the same effect in a few steps:-)

I've seen FILTERS -> NOISE in Fireworks, but there's only ADD NOISE and not REMOVE NOISE :-D

See an example:
http://antwrp.gsfc.n..._rheman_big.jpg

I've tried (sometimes) the Gaussian Blur from Effects, but it BLURS the image, removing the noise - the more you blur it, the better noise-reduction you experience, but that's not what I am searching for... I would like to remove like more than 90% of the "noise" pixels, while preserving the image's quality and sharpness... I know Photoshop now has such a filter...

...and what about Fireworks?

Thx!!!! :-)

#2 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 05 October 2006 - 01:29 AM

Hey, anyone, no ideas, no tips for this issue? :-(

#3 MagdalenaH

MagdalenaH

    FireworksNut

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:28 AM

I did a quick Google search and this is what I found:

http://www.powerreto...in_tutorial.htm

Never tried it, so I can't tell if it works, but sounds it might.

If anyone has, please let us know before I go on a shopping spree.

#4 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 05 October 2006 - 05:34 AM

Yeah, I have found the same, but it's a paid plugin (or set of plugins) and I was searching for something free or a tutorial/extension to achieve similar results... :-(

Hm...

#5 Christen

Christen

    FireworksFreak

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 05 October 2006 - 07:48 AM

I use photoshop for this.

In the filter drop down menu go to the noise filter and use the median setting. This helps to hide the JPEG compression artifacts.

Or try despeckle...

If it's a big source file apply the filter and then resize it (smaller).

De speckling is a nightmare. You can spend hours retouching or you could just fly back up into outer space and retake the photo, use the flash this time though. Don't these astronauts have any sense?!?!

Good luck....

#6 KendallOhio

KendallOhio

    Fireworks Ninja

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted 05 October 2006 - 08:52 AM

I was thinking that (using photoshop) this morning, I have not found a good solution in FW yet.

#7 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 05 October 2006 - 01:08 PM

or you could just fly back up into outer space and retake the photo, use the flash this time though. Don't these astronauts have any sense?!?!

Good luck....


:lol:

billions of dollars spent on the space program, and this is what you get.

#8 KendallOhio

KendallOhio

    Fireworks Ninja

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted 06 October 2006 - 04:05 AM

Hey we did get velcro and tang out of it :)

#9 airbornemist6

airbornemist6

    Fireworks Sparkle

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 December 2006 - 03:03 PM

i've actually developed a way of doing it. you can use a sort of pseudo-anti aliasing. basically copy the picture onto four layers above it, so that you have 5 layers. at that point make each other top four layers 20% transparency and select each layer and press an arrow key once or twice, a different direction for each layer. that should offset the pictures and then when finished it may look a bit blurry, but it will be smoothed. of course, that doesn't work all the time. if it doesn't you can try exporting the picture in 256 color and then import that image back in and attempt to overlay it onto the original picture. neither way works 100% of the time, but when they do, they will make your life much easier.

#10 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 20 December 2006 - 06:48 AM

hmmm....that sounds like a nice workaround. i'm going to give this a try when i get home.

#11 Alan

Alan

    FireworksGuru

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,506 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, California USA
  • Interests:Longboarding, art and video games

Posted 25 December 2006 - 01:56 PM

i've actually developed a way of doing it. you can use a sort of pseudo-anti aliasing. basically copy the picture onto four layers above it, so that you have 5 layers. at that point make each other top four layers 20% transparency and select each layer and press an arrow key once or twice, a different direction for each layer. that should offset the pictures and then when finished it may look a bit blurry, but it will be smoothed. of course, that doesn't work all the time. if it doesn't you can try exporting the picture in 256 color and then import that image back in and attempt to overlay it onto the original picture. neither way works 100% of the time, but when they do, they will make your life much easier.


Wow that does work very well. Kind of a pain, but it works. I really like the Alien Skin Image Doctor filters with also has the JPG repair kit. Its absolutely amazing, only downfall is its not free, but works very well with FW8.

http://www.alienskin...oc_filters.html

#12 Leon

Leon

    FireworksCommander

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Isernhagen

Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:22 PM

My method to remove noise whitout any plugins ;)

First add gauss blur(set 6), then corect contrast (-10/50). Duplicate the bitmap and select MixingMode Luminosity set to 70%.

Not perfekt but simple.

Attached Images

  • comet.jpg


#13 Michel Bozgounov

Michel Bozgounov

    FireMonk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Sofia, BG
  • Interests:Webdesign (XHTML, CSS, graphics)

Posted 31 January 2007 - 03:51 AM

Interesting ideas! I may try them... (but nothing too simple, unfortunately...)

Thank you all for the suggestions/techniques :-)

#14 WebWeaver

WebWeaver

    Fireworks Sparkle

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2010 - 11:37 AM

Interesting ideas! I may try them... (but nothing too simple, unfortunately...)

Thank you all for the suggestions/techniques :-)


Why not just use the Blur brush? Great for despeckling, dust, scratches, jpg compression, etc.

#15 sunjay

sunjay

    Fireworks Sparkle

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:58 AM

YES IT IS EASY TO AVOID NOISE IN THE IMAGES BECAUSE FIRST TO AVOID THE SOUND PRODUCING SOURCE IN THE IMAGE...
__________________________________________________________________
South india tourism | South india tour |
South india tour packages

#16 Mikal jordan

Mikal jordan

    Fireworks Sparkle

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 June 2011 - 10:31 PM

A quick method is using a Gaussian Blur in Gimp 2.0, but make sure you dont blur it too much and don't forget to make a layer mask before blurring. try using simple online photo editing service to save your time, like FotoEditors.com

#17 geoff

geoff

    Fireworks Sparkle

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 August 2011 - 06:58 AM

I would love to know , if you ever got a solution, I have having the same issues.