Jump to content


Photo

Blend modes preview


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 20 September 2006 - 10:03 AM

I'm just not that familiar with all the blend modes. If I do use them, I'll spend a lot of time applying diff modes, which is not so fun. It would be nice if you had some kind of way, like when using the 2-up and 4-up views for optimization, of showing what different modes would do to the same image(s). I hope that makes sense....

Or, does anyone have any other suggestion for quickly comparing the effects of diff blend modes?

#2 KendallOhio

KendallOhio

    Fireworks Ninja

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted 21 September 2006 - 04:01 AM

I like the idea of the 4 panel.

#3 raja

raja

    FireMonkey

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,228 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 06:16 AM

yes me too ilike the idea

#4 blue2x

blue2x

    FireworksMaster

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 720 posts
  • Location:Cagayan de Oro City , Philippines
  • Interests:Adobe Fireworks , Business , Investing , Art , Technology

Posted 21 September 2006 - 05:29 PM

hmmmm good idea , why dont we guys make out a layout suggestion. So this option would be available via right click on every object ?

#5 nemrod

nemrod

    FireStarter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Strasbourg

Posted 21 September 2006 - 11:32 PM

Humm ...
I'm not really agree with this idea :suspicious:
I think the panel or the interface will be to big, to heavy...
and will be a waste of time to configure each view with a mode to compare ...

In fact the blending mode is apllied very quickly when it's selected
so to my mind, be able of changing mode (up&down of the list) with 2 keyboard shortcuts
will be a better evolution ...

Example : In AE, you can change mode just by shift +(+) or shift+(-)
Tac, tac, tac tac on your keyboard and you 've seen all the opportunity :)

Voila ! it's my oppinion :)

#6 senocular

senocular

    Fireworks Extender

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posted 22 September 2006 - 03:42 AM

as long as the blend mode drop down is focused in FW, you can use your UP and DOWN arrow keys to quickly cycle through the various blend modes.

Though, really, the best thing is just to have a good understanding of what each blend mode does and what practical purpose it has.

#7 nemrod

nemrod

    FireStarter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Strasbourg

Posted 22 September 2006 - 04:05 AM

With Up & Down arrow keys ... you can select but not previewing.

Understanding, the mode is off course usefull ... and i know most of them :)

But, most of time, it would be easier and usefull to be able of zapping quickly the modes,
and by this way enhancing the process of creation ... no ?

That's why, i suggets to enable 2 keyboards shortcuts (up & down) for testing the modes on a selected object.

#8 senocular

senocular

    Fireworks Extender

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posted 22 September 2006 - 06:16 AM

yes previewing. Focus the drop down, not open it (though the easiest way to focus is open first, i.e. double-click it; and I think this may only work for the list in the Layers panel, not the PI - the PI has general issues with focus)

#9 nemrod

nemrod

    FireStarter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Strasbourg

Posted 22 September 2006 - 07:31 AM

Ahhhh yes ...
once again ... you learn me something :)

#10 Christen

Christen

    FireworksFreak

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 22 September 2006 - 08:27 AM

Thanks for this tip. Extremely useful...

#11 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 23 September 2006 - 12:11 PM

Though, really, the best thing is just to have a good understanding of what each blend mode does and what practical purpose it has.


i was worried someone was going to say that. :knockedout:

thanks for the other tips, seno.

#12 senocular

senocular

    Fireworks Extender

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA (USA)

Posted 23 September 2006 - 12:58 PM

I'll say that, but to be honest, I don't think anyone really has that knowledge ;)

I know and use a few consistently (overlay, color, and a few others etc.) but to know them all and what they can be used for is a stretch.

#13 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 25 September 2006 - 10:46 AM

I'll say that, but to be honest, I don't think anyone really has that knowledge ;)

I know and use a few consistently (overlay, color, and a few others etc.) but to know them all and what they can be used for is a stretch.


maybe i should do my dissertation research on blend modes. ;)

#14 KendallOhio

KendallOhio

    Fireworks Ninja

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted 25 September 2006 - 12:07 PM

hmm do we get to call you Dr. Blend?

#15 so1980==MikeTaylor

so1980==MikeTaylor

    FireworksNut

  • FwGurus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York, USA
  • Interests:Fireworks, Sociolinguistics, Dialects, New York City, & Burritos.

Posted 26 September 2006 - 11:03 AM

:sick:

i'll pass on that. lol

#16 abeall

abeall

    FireworksNut

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts

Posted 27 September 2006 - 08:51 AM

...and don't foget that different apps use the same name for slightly different algorithms, so blends don't look the same in all apps ;) I've been generally pleased with how FW renders them.